Kentucky Counties
Kentucky County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Kentucky Counties

Kentucky has one hundred and twenty counties, third in the US behind Texas's (254) and Georgia's (159.) Washington County was the first county formed in the Commonwealth of Kentucky when it reached statehood, and the sixteenth county formed

Spencer County, Kentucky

Spencer County Education, Geography, and HistorySpencer County, Kentucky Courthouse

Spencer County is a county located in the state of Kentucky. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 17,061. The County was founded in 1824. The county seat is Taylorsville. Spencer county is named for Captain Spier Spencer.

Spencer County is part of the Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Spencer County Name

Captain Spier Spencer, officer in the post-Revolutionary War Indian campaigns.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Spencer County History

Spencer County was formed in January 1824, by the 32nd Kentucky General Assembly. The land that now makes up Spencer County was taken from Bullitt County, Shelby County, and Nelson County. Spencer County became Kentucky's 77th county.  The county is located in the Outer Bluegrass region of the state.  In 2000 the county population was 11,766 in a land area of 185.90 square miles, an average of 63.3 people per square mile. The county seat is Taylorsville.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 192 square miles (500 km2), of which 187 square miles (480 km2) is land and 5.0 square miles (13 km2) (2.6%) is water. The elevation in the county ranges from 420 to 880 feet above sea level.

Spencer county is located close to the center of Kentucky. This county is located in the heart of the Bluegrass. Taylorsville Lake is a 3,050 acre lake located mainly in Spencer County.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Northeast: Shelby County
  • East: Anderson County
  • Southwest: Nelson County
  • West: Bullitt County
  • Northwest: Jefferson County


The Spencer County Public Schools comprises six schools: Spencer County High School, Spencer County Middle School, Spencer County Elementary School, Taylorsville Elementary School, Hillview Academy, and Spencer County Preschool

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge