Maryland Counties
Maryland County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Maryland Counties

There are twenty-four counties and county-equivalents in Maryland. Though an independent city rather than a county, the City of Baltimore is considered the equal of a county. The last new county formation in Maryland occurred when Garrett County was formed in 1872 from portions of Allegany County.

Anne Arundel, Maryland

Anne Arundel History, Geography, and DemographicsAnne Arundel County, Maryland Courthouse

Anne Arundel County is a county located in the state of Maryland. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 537,656, a population increase of just under 10% since 2000. Its county seat is Annapolis, which is also the capital of the state. The county is named for Lady Anne Arundell (1615-49), a member of the ancient family of Arundells in Cornwall, United Kingdom and the wife of Cecilius Calvert, second Baron and Lord Baltimore, (1605-1675), founder and first Lord Proprietor of the colony Province of Maryland.

Anne Arundel County is included in the Baltimore-Columbia-Towson, MD Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Washington-Baltimore-Arlington, DC-MD-VA-WV-PA Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Anne Arundel County Name

The County was named for Lady Ann Arundell, (1615/1616-1649), the daughter of Thomas Arundell, 1st Baron Arundell of Wardour, members of the ancient family of Arundells in Cornwall, England. She married Cecilius Calvert, second Lord Baltimore, (1605-1675), and the first Lord Proprietor of the colony, Province of Maryland, in an arranged marriage contract in 1627 or 1628.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Anne Arundel County History

The County was named for Anne Arundell, the daughter of Thomas Arundell, 1st Baron Arundell of Wardour, members of the ancient family of Arundells in Cornwall, England. She married Cæcilius Calvert, 2nd Baron Baltimore in 1627 or 1628.

Anne Arundel County was originally part of St. Mary's County in the Province of Maryland. In 1650, the year after Anne Arundell's death, the county separated and became the 3rd of 23 Maryland counties. Between 1654 and 1658, the county was known as "Providence County" by many of its early Puritan settlers.

On March 25, 1655, during the English Civil War, the Battle of the Severn was fought in Anne Arundel County between Puritan forces supporting the Commonwealth of England and forces loyal to Cæcilius Calvert. The Commonwealth forces under William Fuller were victorious.

Between 1694 and 1695, the capital of Maryland was moved from St. Mary's City in St. Mary's County to Annapolis in Anne Arundel County. Prior to the move, Annapolis was known as "Providence".

During the American Revolutionary War, citizens of Anne Arundel County supported the Continental Army by providing troops for three regiments. The 3rd Maryland Regiment, the 4th Maryland Regiment, and the 6th Maryland Regiment recruited in the county.

During the War of 1812, the USS Constitution sailed from Annapolis prior to its victorious engagement with the HMS Guerriere.

On May 22, 1830, the inaugural horse-drawn train of the B & O Railroad travelled the 13 miles (21 km) of the newly-completed track from Mount Clare Station in Baltimore City to Ellicott Mills in Anne Arundel County. This was the first regular railroad passenger service in the United States. Ellicott Mills is now known as Ellicott City and is located in what is now Howard County.

Anne Arundel County originally included most of what was to become Howard County. In 1851, Howard County was broken off and made into the 21st county in Maryland.

Geography: Land and Water

Anne Arundel County is located to the south of the city of Baltimore. According to the 2000 census, the county has a total area of 587.90 square miles (1,522.7 km2), of which 415.94 square miles (1,077.3 km2) (or 70.75%) is land and 171.96 square miles (445.4 km2) (or 29.25%) is water. It is located on the western side of Chesapeake Bay, with numerous rivers and tidal creeks indenting the shoreline.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • North: Baltimore County; Baltimore city
  • East: Chesapeake Bay; Queen Anne's County
  • South: Calvert County
  • Southwest: Prince George's County
  • Northwest: Howard County


Children are educated by the Anne Arundel County Public Schools.
Postsecondary education is offered by Anne Arundel Community College at several locations throughout the county.
Anne Arundel County is also home to the United States Naval Academy and St. John's College, US, both in Annapolis.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge