Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Branch County, Michigan

Branch County Education, Geography, and HistoryBranch County, Michigan Courthouse

Branch County is a county in the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 45,248. The county seat is Coldwater. As one of the "cabinet counties" it was named for the US Secretary of the Navy John Branch under President Andrew Jackson. The county was founded in 1829 and organized in 1833.

Branch County comprises the Coldwater, MI Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Branch County Name

Branch County, named for John Branch, US Secretary of the Navy, and is a Cabinet county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Branch County History

Branch County, named for John Branch, US Secretary of the Navy, and is a Cabinet county.

Set Off: 1829

Organized: 1833

Branch County was a New England settlement. The original founders of Coldwater consisted entirely of settlers from New England. These people were "Yankees", that is to say they were descended from the English Puritans who settled New England in the 1600s and carried their culture with them. During the early 1800s, these settlers were part of a wave of New England farmers who headed west into what was then the wilds of the Northwest Territory. Many traveled through New York State via the Erie Canal; the threat of Native Americans had been reduced by the end of the Black Hawk War. When they arrived in what is now Branch County, they found virgin forest and wild prairie.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 520 square miles (1,300 km2), of which 506 square miles (1,310 km2) is land and 13 square miles (34 km2) (2.6%) is water. It is the third-smallest county in Michigan by total area.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Calhoun County (north)
  • Hillsdale County (east)
  • St. Joseph County (west)
  • Steuben County, Indiana (south)
  • LaGrange County, Indiana (southwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge