Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Iron County, Michigan

Iron County Education, Geography, and HistoryIron County, Michigan Courthouse

Iron County is a county located in the Upper Peninsula of the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,817. The county seat is Crystal Falls.

Etymology - Origin of Iron County Name

Iron County is named for the iron resources found widely in the county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Iron County History

Iron County is named for the iron resources found widely in the county.

Set Off: 1885

Organized: 1885

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,211 square miles (3,140 km2), of which 1,166 square miles (3,020 km2) is land and 45 square miles (120 km2) (3.7%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Houghton County (north)
  • Baraga County (north)
  • Marquette County (northeast)
  • Ontonagon County (northwest)
  • Dickinson County (east)
  • Gogebic County (west)
  • Florence County, Wisconsin (southeast)
  • Forest County, Wisconsin (south)
  • Vilas County, Wisconsin (southwest)


West Iron County Schools
Forest Park School District

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge