Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Luce County, Michigan

Luce County Education, Geography, and HistoryLuce County, Michigan Courthouse

Luce County is a county located in the Upper peninsula in the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 6,631, making it the second-least populous county in Michigan. The county seat is Newberry. The county was set off and organized in 1887 and named after former Michigan Governor Cyrus G. Luce.

Etymology - Origin of Luce County Name

Luce County is named for Michigan Governor Cyrus G. Luce.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Luce County History

Luce County is named for Michigan Governor Cyrus G. Luce.

Set Off: 1887

Organized: 1887

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,912 square miles (4,950 km2), of which 899 square miles (2,330 km2) is land and 1,013 square miles (2,620 km2) (53%) is water. Luce County is part of the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. It has a northern border with Canada across Lake Superior.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Chippewa County (east)
  • Mackinac County (south)
  • Schoolcraft County (southwest)
  • Alger County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge