Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Mackinac County, Michigan

Mackinac County Education, Geography, and HistoryMackinac County, Michigan Courthouse

Mackinac County is a county located in the Upper Peninsula of the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 11,113. The county seat is St. Ignace. Formerly known as Michilimackinac County, in 1818 it was organized as one of the first counties of the Michigan Territory, as it had long been a center of French and British colonial fur trading, a Catholic church and Protestant mission, and associated settlement.

Etymology - Origin of Mackinac County Name

The county's name is believed to be shortened from the French term "Michilimackinac," which referred to the Straits of Mackinac area as well as the French settlement at the tip of the lower peninsula.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Mackinac County History

Mackinac County was originally Michilimackinac, believed to be a French interpretation of the Native American name for the place.

Laid Out: 1818 as Michilimackinac

Organized: 1849 as Mackinac County

Michilimackinac county was created by a proclamation of territorial governor Lewis Cass on October 26, 1818. The county originally took up the Lower Peninsula of Michigan north of Macomb County and almost the entire present Upper Peninsula. At the time of founding, the county seat was the community of Michilimackinac Island on Michilimackinac Island, later known as Mackinac Island, Michigan. In 1882 the county seat was moved to St. Ignace. It was organized in 1849 as Mackinac County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 2,101 square miles (5,440 km2), of which 1,022 square miles (2,650 km2) is land and 1,079 square miles (2,790 km2) (51%) is water. Mackinac County lies at the boundary of Lake Huron and Lake Michigan.

St. Ignace is the northern terminus of the Mackinac Bridge. Mackinac Island is within the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Luce County (north)
  • Chippewa County (east)
  • Schoolcraft County (west)
  • Emmet County (south)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge