Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Mason County, Michigan

Mason County Education, Geography, and HistoryMason County, Michigan Courthouse

Mason County is a county located in the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 28,705. The county seat is Ludington.

Mason County comprises the Ludington, MI Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Mason County Name

Mason County is named for Michigan Governor Stevens T. Mason.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Mason County History

Mason County is named for Michigan Governor Stevens T. Mason.

Set Off: 1840 as Notipekago. Name changed to Mason in 1843

Organized: 1855

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,242 square miles (3,220 km2), of which 495 square miles (1,280 km2) is land and 747 square miles (1,930 km2) (60%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Manistee (north)
  • Lake (east)
  • Newaygo (southeast)
  • Oceana (south)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge