Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Mecosta County, Michigan

Mecosta County Education, Geography, and HistoryMecosta County, Michigan Courthouse

Mecosta County is a county located in the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 42,798. The county seat is Big Rapids. The county is named after Chief Mecosta.

Etymology - Origin of Mecosta County Name

The county is named after Chief Mecosta, the leader of the Potawatomi Native American tribe that once traveled the local waterways in search of fish and game. Chief Mecosta was one of the signers the Treaty of Washington in 1836.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Mecosta County History

Mecosta County is named for Mecosta, a Native American leader. Mecosta (Big Bear) was a Pottawattomi chief who signed the Treaty of Washington in 1836

The Surveyor General approved the United States survey of Mecosta County on February 22, 1839, and the State Legislature established the county boundaries on April 1, 1840.

Set Off: 1840

Organized: 1859

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 571 square miles (1,480 km2), of which 555 square miles (1,440 km2) is land and 16 square miles (41 km2) (2.8%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Osceola County (north)
  • Isabella County (east)
  • Montcalm County (south)
  • Newaygo County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge