Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Muskegon County, Michigan

Muskegon County Education, Geography, and HistoryMuskegon County, Michigan Courthouse

Muskegon County is a county located in the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 172,188. The county seat is Muskegon.

Muskegon County comprises the Muskegon, MI Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is part of the larger Grand Rapids-Wyoming-Muskegon, MI Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Muskegon County Name

Muskegon County name is from the Muskegon River, which runs through it and empties into Muskegon Lake and subsequently flows into Lake Michigan. The word "Muskegon" comes from the Ojibwa/Chippewa word mashkig, meaning "marsh" or "swamp".


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Muskegon County History

Muskegon County is named for the Muskegon River, named for the Ojibwe language word mashkiigoong meaning in the swamp or in the marsh.

Set Off: 1859

Organized: 1859

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,460 square miles (3,800 km2), of which 499 square miles (1,290 km2) is land and 961 square miles (2,490 km2) (66%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Oceana County, Michigan - north
  • Newaygo County, Michigan - northeast
  • Kent County, Michigan - east
  • Ottawa County, Michigan - south


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge