Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Roscommon County, Michigan

Roscommon County Education, Geography, and HistoryRoscommon County, Michigan Courthouse

Roscommon County is a county located in the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 24,449. The county seat is Roscommon. The county was founded in 1840 and organized in 1875. Both the county and county seat are commonly referred to by locals as "Rosco".

Etymology - Origin of Roscommon County Name

Roscommon County is named for County Roscommon in Ireland.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Roscommon County History

Roscommon County was originally part of Midland County, which was organized in 1850. It remained part of Midland County until it was separated in 1875. Roscommon County was named after County Roscommon, Ireland

Set Off: 1840 as Mikenauk County. Renamed Rsocommon in 1843

Organized: 1875

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 580 square miles (1,500 km2), of which 520 square miles (1,300 km2) is land and 60 square miles (160 km2) (10%) is water. Roscommon County is considered to be part of Northern Michigan. Roscommon County is part of the Au Sable State Forest including Roscommon FMU (Ogemaw and Roscommon counties).

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Oscoda County, Michigan - (northeast corner)
  • Crawford County, Michigan - (north)
  • Kalkaska County, Michigan - (northwest corner)
  • Ogemaw County, Michigan - (east)
  • Missaukee County, Michigan - (west)
  • Gladwin County, Michigan - (southeast)
  • Clare County, Michigan - (southwest)


Some popular schools in Roscommon County is the Charlton Heston Academy, Roscommon Area School District, Houghton Lake Community Schools, and Kirtland Community College

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge