Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

St. Joseph County, Michigan

St. Joseph County Education, Geography, and HistorySt. Joseph County, Michigan Courthouse

St. Joseph County is a county located in the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 61,295. The county seat is Centreville. The county takes its name from Saint Joseph, patron saint of New France. It was set off and organized in 1829.

St. Joseph County comprises the Sturgis, MI Micropolitan Statistical Area and is included in the Kalamazoo-Battle Creek-Portage, MI Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of St. Joseph County Name

St. Joseph County is named for Saint Joseph, the patron saint of New France.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

St. Joseph County History

St. Joseph County is named for Saint Joseph, the patron saint of New France.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 521 square miles (1,350 km2), of which 501 square miles (1,300 km2) is land and 20 square miles (52 km2) (3.9%) is water. It is the fourth-smallest county in Michigan by total area. The entire county is within the Saint Joseph River watershed.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Kalamazoo County (north)
  • Branch County (east)
  • Cass County (west)
  • LaGrange County, Indiana (south)
  • Elkhart County, Indiana (southwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge