Michigan Counties
Michigan County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Michigan Counties

The boundaries of the eighty-three counties in Michigan have not changed substantially since 1897. Wayne County was the sixth county in the Northwest Territory, formed 15 August 1796 and organized in 1815. Wayne County was created 21 November 1815 as an original county of Michigan.

Wexford County, Michigan

Wexford County Education, Geography, and HistoryWexford County, Michigan Courthouse

Wexford County is a county located in the state of Michigan. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 32,735. The county seat is Cadillac. When established in 1840 by the Michigan Legislature, the county was given the name Kautawabet, a Potawatomi phrase meaning "broken tooth" and the name of an area Potawatomi chief. In 1843, legislators renamed the county Wexford, after County Wexford in Ireland. It was later formally organized in 1869.

Wexford County is part of the Cadillac, MI Micropolitan Statistical Area, which also includes Missaukee County. It is considered to be part of Northern Michigan.

Etymology - Origin of Wexford County Name

Wexford County is named for County Wexford in Ireland.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wexford County History

Wexford County is named for County Wexford in Ireland.

Set Off: 1840 as Kautawebet County. Renamed Wexford in 1843

Organized: 1869

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 575 square miles (1,490 km2), of which 565 square miles (1,460 km2) is land and 10 square miles (26 km2) (1.8%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Grand Traverse County (north)
  • Missaukee County (east)
  • Osceola County (southeast)
  • Lake County (southwest)
  • Manistee County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge