Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Carlton County, Minnesota

Carlton County Education, Geography, and HistoryCarlton County, Minnesota Courthouse

Carlton County is a county located in the State of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 35,386. Its county seat is Carlton. A portion of the Fond du Lac Indian Reservation is in the county. The county was formed in 1857 and organized in 1870.

Carlton County is included in the Duluth, MN-WI Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Carlton County Name

Named for Reuben B. Carlton, one of the first settlers at the Fond du Lac; member of first state senate, 1858.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Carlton County History

Carlton County was established, with boundaries as they currently are, in 1857, and is home to over 35,000 citizens, including over 3,200 people of the Fond du Lac Reservation, the Lake Superior Band of Ojibway. Carlton County population is mostly rural, 34.8 persons per square mile, with ten cities. Our largest city is Cloquet, which is home to 12,124 persons and the Fond Du Lac Tribal & Community College. You can also visit the City of Moose Lake, one of our many caring communities. The City of Carlton has served as the county seat since 1871.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 875 square miles (2,270 km2), of which 861 square miles (2,230 km2) is land and 14 square miles (36 km2) (1.6%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Saint Louis County, Minnesota (north)
  • Douglas County, Wisconsin (east)
  • Pine County, Minnesota (south)
  • Aitkin County, Minnesota (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge