Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Fillmore County, Minnesota

Fillmore County Education, Geography, and HistoryFillmore County, Minnesota Courthouse

Fillmore County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 20,866. Its county seat is Preston.

Fillmore County is included in the Rochester, MN Metropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Fillmore County Name

Named for Millard Fillmore, member of Congress from New York 1833-35 and 1837-43; president of the United States, 1850-53.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Fillmore County History

Fillmore County was established in 1853. It is named for Millard Fillmore, thirteenth President of the United States. Located in Southeast Minnesota, Fillmore County was an early destination for Euro-American settlement following the United States' 1851 treaties with the Dakota nations. Norwegian immigrants were particularly numerous. In 1860 Fillmore was the most populous county in Minnesota.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 862 square miles (2,230 km2), of which 861 square miles (2,230 km2) is land and 0.8 square miles (2.1 km2) (0.09%) is water.

The county is part of the Driftless Area, or in its own documents, the Paleozoic plateau. This part of Minnesota was ice-free during the last ice age. The county to the east is more rugged, but Fillmore County also displays a karst topography.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Winona County (northeast)
    Houston County (east)
    Winneshiek County, Iowa (southeast)
    Howard County, Iowa (southwest)
    Mower County (west)
    Olmsted County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge