Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Kandiyohi County, Minnesota

Kandiyohi County Education, Geography, and HistoryKandiyohi County, Minnesota Courthouse

Kandiyohi County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, its population was 42,239. Its county seat is Willmar.

Kandiyohi County comprises the Willmar, MN Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Kandiyohi County Name

Named for Kandiyohi Lake. Kandiyohi is the Dakota name for several lakes, meaning "where the buffalo fish come".


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Kandiyohi County History

Kandiyohi County is named after a Dakota word meaning "where the buffalo fish come." Kandiyohi County was organized in 1858 with its county seat in Kandiyohi, which was then called Kandiyohi Station and was just a railroad stop. The original county occupied only the southern half of its current area. Development was slow, and in 1870 the state legislature called for Monongalia County to merge with Kandiyohi and make one larger county. It took until November 21, 1871 to agree on the centrally located Willmar as the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 862 square miles (2,230 km2), of which 797 square miles (2,060 km2) are land and 66 square miles (170 km2) (7.6%) are covered by water. Kandiyohi County is one of seven southern Minnesota counties that have no forest soils; only prairie ecosystems of savannas and prairies exist.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Stearns County (north)
  • Meeker County (east)
  • Renville County (south)
  • Chippewa County (southwest)
  • Swift County (west)
  • Pope County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge