Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Marshall County, Minnesota

Marshall County Education, Geography, and HistoryMarshall County, Minnesota Courthouse

Marshall County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,439. Its county seat is Warren.

Etymology - Origin of Marshall County Name

Named for William Rainey Marshall, governor of Minnesota, 1866-70 and general in 7th Minnesota Regiment during the Civil War


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Marshall County History

An 1874 atlas shows Crookston as the only settlement between Georgetown and Pembina. At that time the Newfolden area was still not surveyed, however, the 1878 completion of the St. Vincent extension of the St. Paul, Minneapolis and Manitoba Railroad that ran across the western part of Pembina County was a major factor in preparing the area for development. Soon after, the Minnesota state legislature divided Pembina County and formed Marshall County on February 25, 1879. The development of the railroads and free land attracted homesteaders and businesses. In 1880 there were 992 residents in Marshall Co

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,813 square miles (4,700 km2), of which 1,775 square miles (4,600 km2) is land and 38 square miles (98 km2) (2.1%) is water. Marshall is one of 17 Minnesota savanna region counties where savanna soils dominate.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Kittson County (north)
  • Roseau County (north)
  • Beltrami County (east)
  • Pennington County (south)
  • Polk County (south)
  • Grand Forks County, North Dakota (southwest)
  • Walsh County, North Dakota (west)
  • Pembina County, North Dakota (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge