Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Pine County, Minnesota

Pine County Education, Geography, and HistoryPine County, Minnesota Courthouse

Pine County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 29,750. Its county seat is Pine City. The county was formed in 1856 and organized in 1872.

A portion of the Mille Lacs Indian Reservation is in the county.

Etymology - Origin of Pine County Name

Named for large stands of white and red pine found at one time in the county


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pine County History

Pine County was organized on March 1, 1856, with Chisago County being its primary parent county. Other portions of the original Pine County originated from Ramsey County. The original county seat was Chengwatana.

In 1857, Buchanan County in full and southern portions of Aitkin and Carlton counties were formed from the original Pine County, with Kanabec County organized a year later. In 1861, Buchanan County was dissolved and folded into Pine County. Pine County was re-organized in 1872, with Pine City becoming the new county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,435 square miles (3,720 km2), of which 1,411 square miles (3,650 km2) is land and 23 square miles (60 km2) (1.6%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Carlton County (north)
  • Douglas County, Wisconsin (northeast)
  • Burnett County, Wisconsin (east)
  • Chisago County (south)
  • Isanti County (southwest)
  • Kanabec County (west)
  • Aitkin County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge