Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Redwood County, Minnesota

Redwood County Education, Geography, and HistoryRedwood County, Minnesota Courthouse

 Redwood County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 16,059. Its county seat is Redwood Falls.

The Lower Sioux Indian Reservation is entirely within the county.

Etymology - Origin of Redwood County Name

Named for Redwood River. Redwood is the translation of the Dakota name "Chanshayapi".


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Redwood County History

Redwood County was created on November 4, 1862 (Organized in 1865) from Brown County. The county was named for the Redwood River. Redwood is the translation of the Dakota name "Chanshayapi". The County Seat is located in Redwood Falls

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 882 square miles (2,280 km2), of which 879 square miles (2,280 km2) is land and 3.2 square miles (8.3 km2) (0.4%) is water.

The Redwood River flows through the county to the Minnesota River.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Renville County (northeast)
  • Brown County (east)
  • Cottonwood County (south)
  • Murray County (southwest)
  • Lyon County (west)
  • Yellow Medicine County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge