Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Sherburne County, Minnesota

Sherburne County Education, Geography, and History

Sherburne County, Minnesota CourthouseSherburne County is a county in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 88,499. The county seat is Elk River.

Sherburne County is included in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Sherburne County Name

Named for Moses Sherburne, associate justice, Minnesota Supreme Court, 1853-57.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sherburne County History

Sherburne County was created on February 25, 1856 (Organized in 1862) from Benton County. The county was named in honor of Moses Sherburne (1813-1873), associate justice, Minnesota Supreme Court, 1853-57.
The County Seat is located in Elk River

Sherburne County is located in central Minnesota, between the Twin Cities and St Cloud. Originally the area was contested middle ground between the northern Minnesota Ojibwa people and the southern Minnesota Dakotas. A treaty in 1837 opened the area to whites and created a buffer zone between the tribes. After the treaty, ox cart trains moved goods and people through the area, but by the 1860s there were several small communities supporting the farmers who had settled. They were drawn by the available prairie land and the proximity to the Mississippi River, which is Sherburne County' southern border.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 451 square miles (1,170 km2), of which 433 square miles (1,120 km2) is land and 18 square miles (47 km2) (4.0%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Mille Lacs County (north)
  • Isanti County (northeast)
  • Anoka County (southeast)
  • Wright County (southwest)
  • Stearns County (west)
  • Benton County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge