Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Steele County, Minnesota

Steele County Education, Geography, and HistorySteele County, Minnesota Courthouse

Steele County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 36,576. Its county seat is Owatonna. The county was named for Franklin Steele, a prominent early resident of the state.

Steele County comprises the Owatonna, MN Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Steele County Name

Named for Franklin Steele, prominent Minneapolis pioneer and businessman; member of first board of regents of the University of Minnesota.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Steele County History

Steele County was created on February 20, 1855 (Organized in 1856) from Blue Earth County, Le Sueur County and Rice County. The county was named in honor of Franklin Steele (1813-1880), prominent Minneapolis pioneer and businessman; member of first board of regents of the University of Minnesota. The County Seat is located in Owatonna

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 432 square miles (1,120 km2), of which 430 square miles (1,100 km2) is land and 2.7 square miles (7.0 km2) (0.6%) is water.

The Straight River flows northwardly through the county, and the Le Sueur River flows through its southwestern corner. The Middle Fork of the Zumbro River has its headwaters in the northeastern part of the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Rice County (north)
  • Dodge County (east)
  • Mower County (southeast)
  • Freeborn County (south)
  • Waseca County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge