Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Stevens County, Minnesota

Stevens County Education, Geography, and HistoryStevens County, Minnesota Courthouse

Stevens County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 9,726. Its county seat is Morris. The county was named for the Civil War Union general Isaac Stevens; it was named for him in 1862, seven years after a legislative clerical error denied him that honor in 1855 for what became Stearns County.

Etymology - Origin of Stevens County Name

Named for Isaac Ingalls Stevens. Directed the northern surveys conducted for the construction of a Pacific railroad; governor of Washington Territory, 1853-57; delegate to Congress from Washington Territory, 1857-61; general in Civil War, killed in the battle of Chantilly, Virginia.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Stevens County History

Stevens County was established on February 20, 1862. It is named after statesman Isaac Ingalls Stevens, who had this county named for him seven years after a legislative clerical error denied him that honor in 1855 for Stearns County.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 575 square miles (1,490 km2), of which 564 square miles (1,460 km2) is land and 12 square miles (31 km2) (2.0%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Grant County (north)
  • Douglas County (northeast)
  • Pope County (east)
  • Swift County (south)
  • Big Stone County (southwest)
  • Traverse County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge