Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Todd County, Minnesota

Todd County Education, Geography, and HistoryTodd County, Minnesota Courthouse

Todd County is a county in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 24,895. Its county seat is Long Prairie. The county was formed in 1855 and organized in 1867. It is named after John Blair Smith Todd, who was a delegate from Dakota Territory to the United States House of Representatives, and general in the Union Army during the American Civil War.

Etymology - Origin of ToddCounty Name

Named for John Blair Smith Todd, commander of Ft. Ripley, 1849-56; general in the Civil War; delegate in Congress from Dakota Territory, 1861 and 1863-65; governor of Dakota Territory, 1869-71.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Todd County History

Todd County was established by the Minnesota Territorial Legislature in February of 1856. It extended east to the Mississippi River. Fort Ripley was in the original county. Young John Baines Smith Todd was in command of the Fort at that time. In keeping with the custom of the times, counties were named for prominent people, and Captain Todd lent his name to the county.

When Minnesota became a state in 1858, the county lines were changed with the land west of a line straight south of the junction of the Crow Wing and Long Prairie Rivers remaining in Todd County. The land east of that line became Morrison County. By 1867, the county was fully organized and those boundaries have remained as such for 125 years.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 980 square miles (2,500 km2), of which 945 square miles (2,450 km2) is land and 35 square miles (91 km2) (3.5%) is water

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wadena County (north)
  • Cass County (northeast)
  • Morrison County (east)
  • Stearns County (south)
  • Douglas County (west)
  • Otter Tail County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge