Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Winona County, Minnesota

Winona County Education, Geography, and HistoryWinona County, Minnesota Courthouse

Winona County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 51,461. Its county seat is Winona.

Winona County comprises the Winona, MN Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Winona County Name

The name of the county is said to derive from a Dakota legend regarding a woman, referred to Winona,  cousin of the last chief Wabasha; from the Dakota word for "first born daughter," who was betrothed to marry a warrior whom she did not love. Rather than marry him, she is said to have leapt to her death from a rock now called "Maiden's Rock" on Lake Pepin. This legend is colloquially referred to as the Winona legend.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Winona County History

Winona County was created on April 4, 1854 from Fillmore County and Wabasha County. The county was named for Dakota woman, cousin of the last chief Wabasha; from the Dakota word for "first born daughter". The County Seat is located in Winona

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 642 square miles (1,660 km2), of which 626 square miles (1,620 km2) is land and 15 square miles (39 km2) (2.4%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wabasha County (northwest)
  • Buffalo County, Wisconsin (north)
  • Trempealeau County, Wisconsin (northeast)
  • La Crosse County, Wisconsin (east)
  • Houston County (south)
  • Fillmore County (southwest)
  • Olmsted County (west)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge