Minnesota Counties
Minnesota County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Minnesota Counties

There are eighty-seven Counties in Minnesota. On October 27, 1849 nine large Minnesota Counties were created. Among them were Benton, Dahkotah, Itasca, Ramsey, Mahkahta, Pembina, Wabashaw, Washington, and Wahnata. Of those Benton, Dakota, Itasca, Ramsey, Wabasha, and Washington still exist as their original name. With the creation of Kittson County on March 9, 1878, Pembina County no longer existed. When Minnesota was organized as a state, 57 of the present 87 Counties were established. The last county to be created was Lake of the Woods County in 1923

Wright County, Minnesota

Wright County Education, Geography, and HistoryWright County, Minnesota Courthouse

Wright County is a county located in the state of Minnesota. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 124,700. Its county seat is Buffalo. The county was founded in 1855.

Wright County is included in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI Metropolitan Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Wright County Name

Named for Silas Wright, member of Congress from New York, 1827-29; US Senator from New York, 1833-44; governor of New York 1845-47. Personal friend of a Monticello resident who urged the legislature to establish the county.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Wright County History

The county was established in 1855, and was named after New York politician Silas Wright. The first county seat was Monticello; in 1868 the county seat was changed to Buffalo. The majority of people to first settle this area were German and Swedish. The population of the county in 1860 was 3,729 people; in 1875, it was 13,775

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 714 square miles (1,850 km2), of which 661 square miles (1,710 km2) is land and 53 square miles (140 km2) (7.4%) is water. The terrain is undulating and contains numerous small lakes. The county is bounded on the northeast by the Mississippi River. Wright is one of 17 Minnesota savanna region counties with more savanna soils than either prairie or forest soils, and one of only two Minnesota counties where savanna soils make up more than 75% of the county area (the other is Hennepin County).

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Sherburne County (northeast)
  • Hennepin County (east)
  • Carver County (southeast)
  • McLeod County (southwest)
  • Meeker County (west)
  • Stearns County (northwest)


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge