New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New York Counties

There are sixty-two counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County.

Chenango County, New York

Chenango County Education, Geography, and HistoryChenango County, New York Courthouse

Chenango County is a county located in the south-central section US state of New York. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 50,477. Its county seat is Norwich. The county's name originates from an Oneida word meaning "large bull-thistle."

Etymology - Origin of Chenango County Name

from the Onondaga Indian word meaning "large bull-thistle"


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Chenango County History

Chenango County, New York was created March 15, 1798. Chenango County was organized from Herkimer and Tioga counties. It had ten townships and it covered an area nearly twice as large as it does today. The original towns were Cazenovia, Sangersfield, Hamilton, Deruyter, Sherburne, Brookfield, Norwich, Greene, Oxford and Jericho. The county seat is Norwich.

The original inhabitants of Chenango County were nomadic Native Americans of the Archaic Period (6000 BC - 700 BC) or earlier, who fished along the Chenango River re-using campsites over hundreds of years. Archaeologists have excavated a small village on the White Site near Norwich which has been carbon dated approximately AD 950. This site is one of the largest and best examples of the Hunter's Home Phase of Indian occupation in the state. When European settlers arrived, the Chenango Valley had long been the traditional hunting and fishing grounds of the Oneida Iroquois.

Geography: Land and Water

Chenango County is in the approximate center of the state, west of Albany, north of Binghamton, and southeast of Syracuse. The county is considered to be in the Southern Tier region of New York State.

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 899 square miles (2,328 km2), of which, 894 square miles (2,316 km2) of it is land and 4 square miles (11 km2) of it (0.48%) is water.

The Chenango River, a tributary of the Susquehanna River flows southward through the county.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Madison County, New York - north
  • Otsego County, New York - northeast
  • Delaware County, New York - southeast
  • Broome County, New York - south
  • Cortland County, New York - west


Morrisville State College has a branch in Norwich.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge