New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New York Counties

There are sixty-two counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County.

Clinton County, New York

Clinton County Education, Geography, and HistoryClinton County, New York Courthouse

Clinton County is a county located in the state of New York. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 82,128. Its county seat is Plattsburgh. The county is named in honor of George Clinton, the first Governor of New York. It lies to the south of the border with the Canadian province of Quebec.

Clinton County comprises the Plattsburgh, NY Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Clinton County Name

Clinton County named in honor of George Clinton, first governor of the state.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Clinton County History

When counties were established in New York State in 1683, the present Clinton County was part of Albany County. This was an enormous county, including the northern part of New York State as well as all of the present State of Vermont and, in theory, extending westward to the Pacific Ocean. This county was reduced in size on July 3, 1766 by the creation of Cumberland County, and further on March 16, 1770, by the creation of Gloucester County, both containing territory now in Vermont. On March 12, 1772, what was left of Albany County was split into three parts, one remaining under the name Albany County. One of the other pieces, Charlotte County, contained the eastern portion.

In 1784, the name "Charlotte County" was changed to Washington County to honor George Washington, the American Revolutionary War general and later President of the United States of America.

In 1788, Clinton County was split off from Washington County. This was a much larger area than the present Clinton County, including several other counties or county parts of the present New York State.

In 1799, Essex County was split off from Clinton County.

In 1802, parts of Clinton, Herkimer, and Montgomery Counties were taken to form the new St. Lawrence County.

In 1808, Franklin County was split off from Clinton County.

Clinton County in the north easternmost corner of New York State bordering Canada on the north and Lake Champlain on the east borders the great invasion route, the Kyber Pass of the North American Continent. This north-south route: this depression in the Appalachian Chain between the rich coastal plain of the Atlantic Seaboard and the arterial St Lawrence and Great Lakes giving access to the heart of the American Continent is just one half mile off our shores. Geography predestines the history of an area and our geographical location has given our Clinton County a heritage in historical events that shaped the early United States of America.

Geography: Land and Water

Clinton County is in the northeastern part of New York State, just west of Vermont and south of the Canadian province of Quebec. The eastern boundary of Clinton County is Lake Champlain, which serves as the New York-Vermont border. The Ausable River forms a large part of the south county line.

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,118 square miles (2,895 km2), of which, 1,039 square miles (2,691 km2) of it is land and 79 square miles (204 km2) of it (7.04%) is water.

The southwest part of the county is in the Adirondack Park.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Grand Isle County, Vermont - east
  • Chittenden County, Vermont - southeast
  • Essex County, New York - south
  • Franklin County, New York - west
  • Le Haut-Richelieu Regional County Municipality, Quebec - north
  • Le Haut-Saint-Laurent Regional County Municipality, Quebec - north
  • Les Jardins-de-Napierville Regional County Municipality, Quebec - north


The State University of New York at Plattsburgh is located in the City of Plattsburgh. The county is also served by Clinton Community College, which is located in the Town of Plattsburgh.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge