New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New York Counties

There are sixty-two counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County.

Essex County, New York

Essex County Education, Geography, and HistoryEssex County, New York Courthouse

Essex County is a county located in the state of New York. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 39,370. Its county seat is Elizabethtown. Its name is from the English county of Essex. Along with Hamilton County, Essex is entirely within the Adirondack Park.

Etymology - Origin of Essex County Name

Named for Essex County, England


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Essex County History

Essex County, was originally settled from New England. Its greatest length N. and S. 43,. greatest breadth E. and W. 41 miles; centrally distant from New York 271, and from Albany 126 miles. "The surface of this county is decidedly mountainous, in which respect it bears a striking contrast to the St. Lawrence. In addition to this, it may be remarked, that the hills, as well as the mountains, are steep and abrupt, and almost uniformly present, on one side, a precipice nearly perpendicular. In this county there are no long and gradual slopes, or gentle risings towards the mountain summit, but they are always bold and difficult of ascent. A surface of country thus characterized, combined also with great height, both of the general surface and especially of numerous peaks, alters to a very great extent its agricultural character. By this combination, the mean temperature of the county is reduced so low, that the cultivation of some of the most useful vegetables is prevented, or they are crops so uncertain, on account of late springs and early autumnal frosts, that little inducement is held out for trying them even as matters of experiment.

"The whole of this county lies within the northern primitive district, except a strip, of lower secondary, which borders the lake for many miles, and which has generally a surface of rock lime. Iron ore of the best quality abounds everywhere on the hills; marble is apparent in Moriah; plumbago in several districts; ochres, from which paint is made, in Ticonderoga; and some copper, it is said, has been discovered in the northern part of the county."The county is divided into 15 towns. (Historical Collections of the State of New York, Past and Present, John Barber, Clark Albien & Co., 1851)

Located in the northeastern part of the state, Essex County encompasses 1,907 square miles of varied terrain, extending westward from Lake Champlain into the heart of the Adirondack Mountains. One of the state's most scenic counties, it is also among its most historic. Its rugged mountains and pleasant valleys have provided the backdrop for military battles, mining, logging, anti-slavery activities, women's suffrage, international athletic competitions, and outdoor adventure. The county was established in 1799 and consists of eighteen townships. It is governed by a Board of Supervisors, with the county seat located in Elizabethtown.

Geography: Land and Water

Essex County is in the northeastern part of New York State, just west of Vermont along the eastern boundary of the State. The eastern boundary of Essex County is Lake Champlain, which serves as the New York-Vermont border. The highest point in New York, Mount Marcy is in the Town of Keene.

The Ausable River forms a partial northern boundary for the county.

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,916 square miles (4,964 km2), of which, 1,797 square miles (4,654 km2) of it is land and 120 square miles (310 km2) of it (6.25%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Clinton County, New York - north
  • Chittenden County, Vermont - northeast
  • Addison County, Vermont - east
  • Washington County, New York - south
  • Warren County, New York - south
  • Hamilton County, New York - southwest
  • Franklin County, New York - northwest


Higher education

North Country Community College

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge