New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New York Counties

There are sixty-two counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County.

Hamilton County, New York

Hamilton County Education, Geography, and HistoryHamilton County, New York Courthouse

Hamilton County is a county located in the state of New York. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 4,836, making it the least populous county in New York. Its county seat is Lake Pleasant. The county is named after Alexander Hamilton, the only member of the New York State delegation who signed the United States Constitution in 1787 and later the first United States Secretary of the Treasury. The county was created in 1816 and later organized in 1847.

Hamilton County is one of only two counties that lie entirely within the Adirondack Park (Essex is the other). Because of its situation in the Adirondack Park, any development in the county is severely restricted by the New York State Constitution, which designates the park as "forever wild." There is no permanent traffic light in the county.

Etymology - Origin of Hamilton County Name

Named in honor of Alexander Hamilton, the only member of the New York delegation who signed the original federal Constitution


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hamilton County History

Named in honor of Alexander Hamilton, this county was formed from Montgomery on 12 Feb 1816; but its independent organization was not completed until it achieved its mandated population of 1288 taxable inhabitants qualified to vote. On 1 Jan 1838 it was partially organized and detached from Montgomery county and by 1847 it was fully organized. The county occupies the central portions of the Adirondacks and within its 1745 square miles of mountainous land is located some 77 lakes. The county seat was located in the village of Sageville, which is now a part of the village of Lake Pleasant. It is currently comprised of the following townships: Arietta, Benson, Hope, Indian Lake, Inlet, Lake Pleasant, Long Lake, Morehouse, and Wells. At one time there was also a town of Gilman, which was formed 23 Apr 1839 with land primarily taken from Wells and Lake Pleasant and it was abolished 6 Apr 1860.

Located in the Mid-Adirondacks, Hamilton County offers its myriad forested mountains, seventy-seven major lakes, and countless streams, with beauties that only Nature can provide. Farming was the major occupation of its earliest settlers, who came to the county's southern section just prior 1800. However, the rocky soil and short growing seasons in the county's elevated lands proved discouraging.

Geography: Land and Water

Hamilton County is in the central part of the state, northwest of Albany. It lies entirely within Adirondack Park and consists mostly of publicly owned parkland.

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,808 square miles (4,682 km2), of which, 1,720 square miles (4,456 km2) of it is land and 87 square miles (226 km2) of it (4.84%) is water.

The snowfall in Hamilton County averages 100 inches per year

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Franklin County, New York - northeast
  • Essex County, New York - northeast
  • Warren County, New York - east
  • Saratoga County, New York - southeast
  • Fulton County, New York - south
  • Herkimer County, New York - west
  • St. Lawrence County, New York - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge