New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New York Counties

There are sixty-two counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County.

Washington County, New York

Washington County Education, Geography, and HistoryWashington County, New York Courthouse

Washington County is a county located in the state of New York. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 63,216. The county seat is Fort Edward. The county was named for the Revolutionary War general (and later President of the United States) George Washington.

Washington County is part of the Glens Falls, NY Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Albany-Schenectady, NY Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Washington County Name

Named in honor of George Washington, first President of the United States


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Washington County History

When counties were established in New York State in 1683, the present Washington County was part of Albany County. This was an enormous county, including the northern part of New York State as well as all of the present State of Vermont and, in theory, extending westward to the Pacific Ocean. This county was reduced in size on July 3, 1766 by the creation of Cumberland County, and further on March 16, 1770 by the creation of Gloucester County, both containing territory now in Vermont.

On March 12, 1772, what was left of Albany County was split into three parts, one remaining under the name Albany County. The other two were called Tryon County (later renamed Montgomery County) and Charlotte County.

In 1784, the name "Charlotte County" was changed to honor George Washington, the American Revolutionary War general and later President of the United States of America.

In 1788, Clinton County was split off from Washington County. This was a much larger area than the present Clinton County, including several other counties or county parts of the present New York State.

In 1791, the Town of Cambridge was transferred from Albany County to Washington County.

In 1813, Warren County was split off from Washington County.

In 1994, with the completion of the new municipal center, the county seat was moved from Hudson Falls to Fort Edward.

The first Europeans to claim land in today's Washington County were the Dutch. However, substantial settlement only occurred toward the end of the French and Indian War (1755-1763), when the British crown awarded land to many soldiers of that conflict, and sold land patents to potential settlers and investors.

Geography: Land and Water

Washington County is located in the northeastern section of the State. The eastern boundary of Washington County is the New York-Vermont border, part of which is Lake Champlain.

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 846 square miles (2,191 km2), of which, 835 square miles (2,164 km2) of it is land and 10 square miles (27 km2) of it (1.23%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Essex County, New York - north
  • Addison County, Vermont - northeast
  • Rutland County, Vermont - east
  • Bennington County, Vermont - southeast
  • Rensselaer County, New York - south
  • Saratoga County, New York - southwest
  • Warren County, New York - west


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge