New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge

New York Counties

There are sixty-two counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County.

Yates County, New York

Yates County Education, Geography, and HistoryYates County, New York Courthouse

Yates County is a county located in the state of New York. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 25,348, making it the third-least populous county in New York. The county seat is Penn Yan. The name is in honor of Joseph C. Yates, who as Governor of New York signed the act establishing the county.

Yates County is included in the Rochester, NY Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Yates County Name

Name in honor of Governor Joseph C. Yates, who approved the act establishing the county


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Yates County History

Yates County was taken from Ontario in 1823; centrally distant from New York via Albany 330, and from Albany 185 miles; greatest length E. and W. 24, greatest breadth N. and S. 20 miles. The surface of this county is agreeably diversified; the northern part is gently undulating, and the southern hilly. The soil is in many places composed of a warm rich mould, yielding abundant crops, though as a whole it is more of a grazing than a grain country. The climate is temperate, and for the cultivation of fruit is not exceeded by any portion of the state. It lies wholly in the tract ceded to Massachusetts, and in that portion of it which passed through Messrs. Gorham, Phelps, and Robert Morris to Sir William Pulteney. It is divided into eight towns. (Historical Collections of the State of New York, Past and Present, John Barber, Clark Albien & Co., 1851)

Perhaps no other county in New York State has such mystic boundaries. The Finger Lakes, according to Indian Legend are the depressions left by the hand of the Great Spirit when he rested from his labors. The shores of them, Seneca, Keuka and Canadaigua are part of Yates County.

Geography: Land and Water

Yates County is in the western part of New York State, northwest of Ithaca and southeast of Rochester. It has a total area of 376 square miles (973 km2), of which, 338 square miles (876 km2) of it is land and 38 square miles (97 km2) of it (9.99%) is water. Yates County is in the Finger Lakes Region.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Ontario County, New York - north
  • Seneca County, New York - east
  • Schuyler County, New York - southeast
  • Steuben County, New York - southwest


Keuka College is in this county.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge