North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Duplin County, North Carolina

Duplin County Education, Geography, and HistoryDuplin County, North Carolina Courthouse

Duplin County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 58,505. Its county seat is Kenansville

Etymology - Origin of Duplin County Name

It was named in honor of Thomas Hay, Lord Duplin, an English nobleman.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Duplin County History

Duplin was formed in 1750 from New Hanover. It was named in honor of Thomas Hay, Lord Duplin, an English nobleman. It is in the eastern section of the State and is bounded by Jones, Onslow, Pender, Sampson, Wayne, and Lenoir counties. The present land area is 817.73 square miles and the 2000 population was around 49,063. From 1755 to 1780 the county seat was called Duplin Court House, but the location was not specified. The county court minutes merely say that the court was held at the court house. In 1816 Kenansville was laid out on the public lands and a new courthouse ordered to be erected. On and after January, 1819, the court was held in the courthouse in Kenansville. Kenansville is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 822 square miles (2,130 km2), of which 816 square miles (2,110 km2) is land and 5.5 square miles (14 km2) (0.7%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Wayne County - north
  • Lenoir County - northeast
  • Jones County - east
  • Onslow County - southeast
  • Pender County - south
  • Sampson County - west


Duplin County is home to James Sprunt Community College.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge