North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Edgecombe County, North Carolina

Edgecombe County Education, Geography, and HistoryEdgecombe County, North Carolina Courthouse

Edgecombe County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 56,552.. Its county seat is Tarboro.

Edgecombe County is part of the Rocky Mount, NC Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Edgecombe County Name

It was named in honor of Richard Edgecome, who became Baron Edgecombe in 1742, an English nobleman and a lord of the Treasury.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Edgecombe County History

Edgecombe was formed in 1741 from Bertie. although deeds begin in 1732 and one will dates from 1733. [No action had been taken on a bill to establish the county in 1734.] It was named in honor of Richard Edgecome, who became Baron Edgecombe in 1742, an English nobleman and a lord of the Treasury. It is in the eastern section of the State and is bounded by Martin, Pitt, Wilson, Nash, and Halifax counties. The present land area is 505.03 square miles and the 2000 population was 55,606. The first county seat was Edgecombe Court House. Tarboro was established in 1760 and was made the county seat in 1764.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 507 square miles (1,310 km2), of which 505 square miles (1,310 km2) is land and 1.3 square miles (3.4 km2) (0.3%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Halifax County - northeast
  • Martin County - east
  • Pitt County - southeast
  • Wilson County - southwest
  • Nash County - northwest


Edgecombe County Public Schools has 15 schools ranging from pre-kindergarten to twelfth grade. These are separated into five high schools, four middle schools, and six elementary schools.] It was formed in 1993 from the merger of the old Edgecombe County Schools and Tarboro City Schools systems.

The county also is home to Edgecombe Community College and has campuses in Tarboro and Rocky Mount.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge