North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Franklin County, North Carolina

Franklin County Education, Geography, and HistoryFranklin County, North Carolina Courthouse

Franklin County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 60,619. Its county seat is Louisburg.

Franklin County is included in the Raleigh, NC Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill, NC Combined Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Franklin County Name

It was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Franklin County History

Franklin was formed in 1779 from Bute. It was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin. It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by Nash, Wake, Granville, Vance, and Warren counties. The present land area is 492.02 square miles and the 2000 population was 47,260. The act establishing the county authorized that the first court be held at the home of Benjamin Seawell. The justices were to determine where subsequent courts were to be held until the courthouse could be erected. In 1779 Lewisburg was established on land purchased by the commissioners for the erection of the courthouse. Louisburg is the county seat

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 494 square miles (1,280 km2), of which 492 square miles (1,270 km2) is land and 2.8 square miles (7.3 km2) (0.6%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Warren County - northeast
  • Halifax County - northeast
  • Nash County - east
  • Johnston County - south
  • Wake County - southwest
  • Granville County - west
  • Vance County - northwest


Franklin County Schools operates 16 schools throughout the county ranging from pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade. They include 4 high schools, 4 middle schools and 8 elementary schools.

Franklin County is home to the two-year Methodist-affiliated Louisburg College and to a satellite campus of Vance-Granville Community College.

Youngsville Academy, a college-preparatory, tuition-free Charter School opened in July 2015.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge