North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Hoke County, North Carolina

Hoke County Education, Geography, and HistoryHoke County, North Carolina Courthouse

Hoke County is a county in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 46,952. Its county seat is Raeford.

Hoke County is part of the Fayetteville, NC Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Hoke County Name

It was named in honor of Robert F. Hoke, a major-general in the Confederate States Army.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hoke County History

Hoke was formed in 1911 from Cumberland and Robeson. It was named in honor of Robert F. Hoke, a major-general in the Confederate States Army. It is in the southeastern section of the State and is bounded by Cumberland, Robeson, Scotland, Moore and Harnett counties. The present land area is 391.21 square miles and the 2000 population was 33,646. Raeford is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 392 square miles (1,020 km2), of which 391 square miles (1,010 km2) is land and 1.6 square miles (4.1 km2) (0.4%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Moore County - northwest
  • Cumberland County - east
  • Robeson County - south
  • Scotland County - southwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge