North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Hyde County, North Carolina

Hyde County Education, Geography, and HistoryHyde County, North Carolina Courthouse

Hyde County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 5,810, making it the second-least populous county in North Carolina. Its county seat is Swan Quarter. The county was created in 1705 as Wickham Precinct. It was renamed Hyde Precinct in 1712 and gained county status in 1739.

Etymology - Origin of Hyde County Name

Hyde was first called Wickham, the name being changed about 1712. It was named in honor of Edward Hyde, Governor of North Carolina and a grandson of the Earl of Clarendon.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Hyde County History

Hyde was first called Wickham, the name being changed about 1712. It was named in honor of Edward Hyde, Governor of North Carolina and a grandson of the Earl of Clarendon. It is in the eastern section of the State and is bounded by the Pamlico Sound and Beaufort, Washington, Tyrrell and Dare counties (and on the banks by the Atlantic Ocean and Dare and Carteret counties). The present land area is 612.80 square miles and the 2000 population was 5,826. The courts were held in the courthouse in Bath until 1729. In that year an act was passed separating the precincts of Beaufort and Hyde and authorizing a courthouse to be built on the land of William Webster. In 1738 a town by the name of Woodstock was laid out on Webster's land. The courthouse at Woodstock burned about 1789, and in 1790 an act was passed moving the courthouse to Bell's Bay or Jasper's Creek. The county seat was on Jasper's Creek during 1791-1792. A law was passed in 1791 establishing a town on the land belonging to Germain Bernard where the courthouse stands." This town was called German-town In 1820 the old courthouse was authorized to be sold and a new one erected at Lake Landing or within two miles of it. In 1836 commissioners were named to purchase land from Zacheriah Gibbs for a county seat, or within one-forth mile of the place called Swan Quarter, and erect a courthouse. Swan Quarter is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,424 square miles (3,690 km2), of which 613 square miles (1,590 km2) is land and 811 square miles (2,100 km2) (57%) is water. It is the second-largest county in North Carolina by total area. Hyde County's in-land is part of the Inner Banks. Ocracoke Island is part of the Outer Banks

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Tyrrell County - north
  • Dare County - northeast
  • Carteret County - southwest
  • Beaufort County - west
  • Washington County - northwest


Hyde County is home to the smallest public school system in North Carolina. The Hyde County Schools comprises two schools.

Mattamuskeet School, K-12 serves the mainland
Ocracoke School, K-12 serves Ocracoke Island

The only private school in Hyde County is a small Mennonite school located in the northwest section of the county. This school serves the county's Mennonite population.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge