North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Lee County, North Carolina

Lee County Education, Geography, and HistoryLee County, North Carolina Courthouse

Lee County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 57,866. Its county seat is Sanford. The county was formed in 1907 from parts of Chatham County, Moore County and Harnett County. It was named for the Confederate general Robert E. Lee who fought during the American Civil War.

Lee County comprises the Sanford Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is a part of the greater Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill, NC Combined Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Lee County Name

It was named in honor of Robert E. Lee.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lee County History

Lee was formed in 1907 from Moore and Chatham. The act was to become effective April 1, 1908. It was named in honor of Robert E. Lee. It is in the central section of the State and is bounded by Harnett, Moore and Chatham counties. The present land area is 257.26 square miles and the 2000 population was 49,208. Sanford is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 259 square miles (670 km2), of which 255 square miles (660 km2) is land and 4.1 square miles (11 km2) (1.6%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Chatham County - north
  • Harnett County - southeast
  • Moore County - southwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge