North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Lenoir County, North Carolina

Lenoir County Education, Geography, and HistoryLenoir County, North Carolina Courthouse

Lenoir County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 59,495. Its county seat is Kinston, located on the Neuse River, across which the county has its territory.

Lenoir County comprises the Kinston, NC Micropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Lenoir County Name

It was named in honor of William Lenoir, one of the heroes of Kings Mountain.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Lenoir County History

Lenoir was formed in 1791 from Dobbs. It was named in honor of William Lenoir, one of the heroes of Kings Mountain. It is in the eastern section of the State and is bounded by Craven, Jones, Duplin, Wayne, Green and Pitt counties. The present land area is 399.85 square miles and the 2000 population was 59,636. When Kinston was established in 1762 it was in Dobbs County. It was made the county seat of Dobbs in 1764, and when Dobbs was established in 1791, Kinston became the county seat of Lenoir.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 403 square miles (1,040 km2), of which 401 square miles (1,040 km2) is land and 2.2 square miles (5.7 km2) (0.6%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Greene County - north
  • Pitt County - northeast
  • Craven County - east
  • Jones County - southeast
  • Duplin County - southwest
  • Wayne County - west


The City of Kinston and Lenoir County merged school systems in 1992. There are four public high schools in Lenoir County: Lenoir County Early College, North Lenoir, South Lenoir and Kinston High School. There are three public middle schools: E.B. Frink, Rochelle and Woodington. There are also eight public elementary schools: Banks, La Grange, Moss Hill, Northeast, Northwest, Pink Hill, Southeast and Southwood. Additionally, Contentnea-Savannah is a kindergarten to eighth grade school; there is one alternative school, Sampson.

Lenoir County is home to two private academies - Arendell Parrott Academy and Bethel Christian Academy - and two charter academies - Kinston Charter Academy and Children's Village Academy.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge