North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Mecklenburg County, North Carolina

Mecklenburg County Education, Geography, and HistoryMecklenburg County, North Carolina Courthouse

Mecklenburg County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 919,628, which increased to 1,012,539 as of the 2014 estimate, making it both the most populated and densely populated county in North Carolina. Its county seat and largest city is Charlotte.

Mecklenburg County is included in the Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Mecklenburg County Name

It was named in honor of Princess Charlotte Sophia of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, the Queen of George III who was King of England.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Mecklenburg County History

Mecklenburg was formed in 1762 from Anson. The act was to become effective February 1, 1763. It was named in honor of Princess Charlotte Sophia of Mecklenburg-Strelitz, the Queen of George III who was King of England. It is in the south central section of the State and is bounded by the state of South Carolina and Gaston, Lincoln, Iredell, Cabarrus and Union counties. The present land area is 526.28 square miles and the 2000 population was 695,370. Charlotte, named for Princess Charlotte and established in 1766. is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 546 square miles (1,410 km2), of which 524 square miles (1,360 km2) is land and 22 square miles (57 km2) (4.0%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Iredell County - north
  • Cabarrus County - northeast
  • Union County - southeast
  • Lancaster County, South Carolina - south
  • York County, South Carolina - southwest
  • Gaston County - west
  • Catawba County - northwest
  • Lincoln County - northwest


School system

One common school district, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS), serves the entire county; however, the State of North Carolina has a number of Charter Schools in Mecklenburg County (independently operated schools financed with tax dollars).

Colleges and universities

University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Charlotte School of Law
Davidson College
King's College
Queens University of Charlotte
Central Piedmont Community College
Johnson & Wales University
Johnson C. Smith University
The Art Institute of Charlotte

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge