North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Nash County, North Carolina

Nash County Education, Geography, and HistoryNash County, North Carolina Courthouse

Nash County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 95,840. Its county seat is Nashville.

Nash County is part of the Rocky Mount, NC Metropolitan Statistical Area. It is also included in the Raleigh, NC Metropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill, NC Combined Statistical Area

Etymology - Origin of Nash County Name

It was named in honor of General Francis Nash, who was mortally wounded while fighting under George Washington in Germantown.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Nash County History

Nash was formed in 1777 from Edgecombe. It was named in honor of General Francis Nash, who was mortally wounded while fighting under George Washington in Germantown. It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by Edgecombe, Wilson, Johnston, Franklin and Halifax counties. The present land area is 540.27 square miles and the 2000 population was 87,385. The act establishing the county provided that the first court be held at the home of Micajah Thomas, and all subsequent courts at a place to be decided upon by the justices of the peace until the courthouse could be erected. The act also named commissioners to select a site for the county seat. The first courthouse was to be on "Peach Tree." In 1782 the funds for constructing the public buildings were inadequate and additional taxes were levied. The county seat was called Nash Court House. In 18l5 an act was passed naming commissioners to locate the center of the county and purchase fifty acres of land on which to erect a courthouse. Other commissioners were named to lay out the town of Nashville and to have the courthouse erected. Court was ordered held at the old courthouse until the new building was finished. There was much bickering and dissatisfaction among the citizens concerning the location of the courthouse between 1815 and 1825. Finally, Nashville was satisfactorily agreed upon and has continued to be the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 543 square miles (1,410 km2), of which 540 square miles (1,400 km2) is land and 2.4 square miles (6.2 km2) (0.4%) is covered by water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Franklin County - west
  • Johnston County - southwest
  • Wilson County - south
  • Edgecombe County - east
  • Halifax County - northeast
  • Warren County - north


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge