North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Pasquotank County, North Carolina

Pasquotank County Education, Geography, and HistoryPasquotank County, North Carolina Courthouse

Pasquotank County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 40,661. Its county seat is Elizabeth City. The county was originally created as Pasquotank Precinct and gained county status in 1739.

Pasquotank County is part of the Elizabeth City, NC Micropolitan Statistical Area, which is also included in the Virginia Beach-Norfolk, VA-NC Combined Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Pasquotank County Name

Its name is derived from an Indian word pasketanki which meant "where the current of the stream divides or forks."


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pasquotank County History

Pasquotank was formed as early as 1668 as a precinct of Albemarle County. Its name is derived from an Indian word pasketanki which meant "where the current of the stream divides or forks." It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by Albemarle Sound and Perquimans. Gates, and Camden counties. The present land area is 226.88 square miles and the 2000 population was 34,897. It is not known when the first courthouse was built, but from 1737 to 1757 the courthouse was at Brook Field. In 1758 it was moved to Belfe's Point. It remained there until 1762 or probably a little later. From 1765 until 1785 the courthouse was at Winfield. In 1784 the Assembly directed that it be moved to Nixonton, and from 1785 to 1800 Nixonton was the county seat. In 1799 Elizabeth (City) Town was named the county seat and on June 6, 1800, the first court was held there. Elizabeth City was first called Redding, which was established in 1793. Redding was changed to Elizabeth Town in 1794, and Elizabeth Town was changed to Elizabeth City in 1801. It is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 289 square miles (750 km2), of which 227 square miles (590 km2) is land and 63 square miles (160 km2) (22%) is water. It is the fifth-smallest county in North Carolina by land area.

Almost all of the terrain in Pasquotank County is flatland with a topography near sea level, a characteristic of most of North Carolina's Coastal Plain. The county is flanked by two rivers: the Pasquotank - with which it shares its name - to the east, and the Little River to the west.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Camden County (east)
  • Perquimans County (southwest)
  • Gates County (northwest)


College of the Albemarle
Elizabeth City State University
Mid-Atlantic Christian University

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge