North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Pitt County, North Carolina

Pitt County Education, Geography, and HistoryPitt County, North Carolina Courthouse

Pitt County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 168,148. Its county seat is Greenville.

Pitt County comprises the Greenville, NC Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Etymology - Origin of Pitt County Name

It was named in honor of William Pitt.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Pitt County History

Pitt was formed in 1760 from Beaufort. The act was to become effective January 1,1761. It was named in honor of William Pitt. It is in the eastern section of the State and is bounded by Beaufort, Craven, Lenoir, Greene, Wilson, Edgecombe and Martin counties. The present land area is 651.58 square miles and the 2000 population was 133,719. The act establishing the county authorized the courts to be held at the home of John Hardy until a courthouse could be built. It also directed the justices to contract for the construction of the courthouse, prison and stocks on John Hardy's land on the south side of Tar River, near the Chapel known as Hardy's Chapel. In 1771 Martinsboro was established on Richard Evans's land, and in 1774 the courthouse, prison and stocks were moved to Martinsboro. Court was held at the home of John Lessley until the new courthouse, prison and stocks were completed. In 1787 Martinsborough was changed to Greenville. Greenville is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 655 square miles (1,700 km2), of which 652 square miles (1,690 km2) is land and 2.9 square miles (7.5 km2) (0.4%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Martin County - northeast
  • Beaufort County - east
  • Craven County - south-southeast
  • Lenoir County - south-southwest
  • Greene County - southwest
  • Wilson County - west
  • Edgecombe County - northwest


East Carolina University
Pitt Community College
Miller-Motte Technical College

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge