North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Sampson County, North Carolina

Sampson County Education, Geography, and HistorySampson County, North Carolina Courthouse

Sampson County is a county located in the state of North Carolina. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 63,431.Its county seat is Clinton.

Etymology - Origin of Sampson County Name

It was named in honor of Colonel John Sampson, who was a member of Josiah Martin's council.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Sampson County History

Sampson was formed in 1784 from Duplin. It was named in honor of Colonel John Sampson, who was a member of Josiah Martin's council. It is in the eastern section of the State and is bounded by Wayne, Duplin, Pender, Bladen, Cumberland, Harnett and Johnston counties. The present land area is 945.45 square miles and the 2000 population was 60,161. The act establishing the county directed that the first court be held at the home of James Myhand, at which place the justices were to decide where all subsequent courts were to be held until a courthouse could be erected. Commissioners were named to select a central location, purchase land, and erect the public buildings. It is probable that the courthouse was called Sampson Court House on the public lands of the county. Clinton is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 947 square miles (2,450 km2), of which 945 square miles (2,450 km2) is land and 1.9 square miles (4.9 km2) (0.2%) is water. It is the second-largest county in North Carolina. It is second to Robeson County, which has a total area of 951 square miles (2,460 km2)

The county is drained by the Black and South Rivers, as well as Six Run Creek.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Johnston County - north
  • Wayne County - northeast
  • Duplin County - east
  • Pender County - southeast
  • Bladen County - southwest
  • Cumberland County - west
  • Harnett County - northwest


Sampson County has a county-wide public school system for the grades of K-12 with the exception of the City of Clinton, which has its own public school district for grades K-12. The only post-secondary public institution in the county is Sampson Community College.

Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge