North Carolina Counties
North Carolina County map
Click Image to Enlarge

North Carolina Counties

North Carolina is divided into one hundred counties. The establishment of North Carolina counties stretches over 240 years, beginning in 1668 with the creation of Albemarle County and ending with the 1911 creation of Avery and Hoke counties. Five counties have been divided or abolished altogether, the last being Dobbs County in 1791.

Warren County, North Carolina

Warren County Education, Geography, and HistoryWarren County, North Carolina Courthouse

Warren County is a county located in the Northeastern Piedmont region of North Carolina, on the northern border with Virginia. Based on the 2010 census, the population was 20,972. Its county seat is Warrenton.

Etymology - Origin of Warren County Name

It was named in honor of Joseph Warren, a soldier of Massachusetts who fell while fighting at Bunker Hill.


County QuickFacts: CensusBureau Quick Facts

Warren County History

Warren was formed in 1779 from Bute. It was named in honor of Joseph Warren, a soldier of Massachusetts who fell while fighting at Bunker Hill. It is in the northeastern section of the State and is bounded by Northampton, Halifax, Franklin, and Vance counties and the state of Virginia. The present land area is 428.70 square miles and the 2000 population was 19,972. The act establishing the county specified that the first court was to be held at the courthouse of Bute; it also provided that subsequent courts were to be held at a place decided upon by the justices of the peace until a courthouse could be erected. Commissioners were named to select a site at the center of the county, purchase land and have the courthouse, prison and the stocks erected. In 1779 another act was passed establishing Warrenton. This act provided that the courts were to be held at the home of Thomas Christmas until the courthouse was built. Warrenton is the county seat.

Geography: Land and Water

As reported by the Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 444 square miles (1,150 km2), of which 428 square miles (1,110 km2) is land and 15 square miles (39 km2) (3.4%) is water.

Neighboring Counties

Bordering counties are as follows:

  • Brunswick County, Virginia - north
  • Northampton County - northeast
  • Halifax County - east
  • Franklin County - south
  • Vance County - west
  • Mecklenburg County, Virginia - northwest


Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Click Image to Enlarge