US State Poet Laureates

US Symbols Online: State Poet Laureates.

Many US states have posts occupied by prominent poets and entitled Poet Laureate of .... The responsibilities are typically similar to those of the Poet Laureate and the Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress.

Most holders of the these titles reach pre-eminence by public competition, and use the office responsibly to further the knowledge and enjoyment of poetry and the written word by citizens of the states in which they hold office.

Listed are the names of all current state poets laureate of the United States with links to the Main Reading Room, Library of Congress, for the history of the laureateship in each state. Also, provide a comprehensive listing of all prior state poets laureate.

US State Poet Laureates


Poets Laureate

Alabama Poets Laureate Andrew Glaze
Term: January 2013
Alaska Poets Laureate Nora Marks Dauenhauer (official title: State Writer Laureate)
Term: October 10, 2012
Arizona Poets Laureate Alberto Ríos
Term: January 20, 2014
Arkansas Poets Laureate Peggy Vining
Term: 2003
California Poets Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera
Term: March 26, 2012
Colorado Poets Laureate David Mason
Term: July 1, 2010
Connecticut Poets Laureate Dick Allen
Term: July 1, 2010
Delaware Poets Laureate JoAnn Balingit
Term: May 14, 2008
Florida Poets Laureate Position vacant
Georgia Poets Laureate Judson Mitcham
Term: May 4, 2012
Hawaii Poets Laureate Kealoha (Steven Kealohapau'ole Hong-Ming Wong)
Term: May 3, 2012
Idaho Poets Laureate Brady Udall (Official Title: Writer-in-Residence)
Term: July 1, 2010 (term ends June 30, 2013)
Illinois Poets Laureate Kevin Stein
Term: December 11, 2003
Indiana Poets Laureate George Kalamaras
Term: January 1, 2014
Iowa Poets Laureate Mary Swander
Term: February 18, 2009
Kansas Poets Laureate Wyatt Townley
Term: May 23, 2013
Kentucky Poets Laureate Frank X Walker
Term: January 2013 (formally inducted April 24, 2013)
Louisiana Poets Laureate Ava Leavell Haymon
Term: June 21, 2013
Maine Poets Laureate Wesley McNair
Term: March 11, 2011
Maryland Poets Laureate Stanley Plumly
Term: September 29, 2009
Massachusetts Poets Laureate Position does not exist.
Michigan Poets Laureate Position does not currently exist.
Edgar A. Guest was the first and only Michigan Poet Laureate
Minnesota Poets Laureate Joyce Sutphen
Term: August 23, 2011
Mississippi Poets Laureate Natasha Trethewey
Term: January 2012
Missouri Poets Laureate William Trowbridge
Term: April 13, 2012
Montana Poets Laureate Sheryl Noethe
Term: August 2, 2011
Nebraska Poets Laureate Twyla Hansen
Term: December 1, 2013
Nevada Poets Laureate Vacant
New Hampshire Poets Laureate Alice B. Fogel
Term: March 2014
New Jersey Poets Laureate Term: No position
Term: The position no longer exists. It was created October 4, 1999, under P.L.1999, c.228
New Mexico Poets Laureate No position
New York Poets Laureate Marie Howe (official title: State Poet)
Term: August 29, 2012
North Carolina Poets Laureate Joseph Bathanti
Term: September 20, 2012 (named to position August 30, 2012)
North Dakota Poets Laureate Larry Woiwode
Term: 1995
Ohio Poets Laureate No position
Oklahoma Poets Laureate Nathan Brown
Term: January 2013
Oregon Poets Laureate Paulann Petersen
Term: April 26, 2010
Pennsylvania Poets Laureate No Position
Term: Position established 1993. The first and only state poet laureate, Sam Hazon, was appointed May 24, 1993 by Gov. Bob Casey.
Rhode Island Poets Laureate Term: Rick Benjamin
Term: January 9, 2013
South Carolina Poets Laureate Marjory Heath Wentworth
Term: 2003
South Dakota Poets Laureate David Allan Evans
Term: June 15, 2002
Tennessee Poets Laureate Margaret Britton Vaughn
Term: 1999 (lifetime appointment)
Texas Poets Laureate Rosemary Catacalos
Term: April 2013
Utah Poets Laureate Katharine Coles
Term: May 5, 2012
Vermont Poets Laureate Sydney Lea
Term: November 4, 2011
Virginia Poets Laureate Sofia Starnes
Term: August 3, 2012
Washington Poets Laureate Kathleen Flenniken
Term: February 9, 2012
Washington, DC Poets Laureate Dolores Kendrick
Term: May 14, 1999
West Virginia Poets Laureate Marc Harshman
Term: May 17, 2012
Wisconsin Poets Laureate Max Garland Term:
January 3, 2013
Wyoming Poets Laureate Patricia Frolander
Term: November 7, 2011
State Poet Laureates
Poetry: State Poet Laureates
Many US states have posts occupied by prominent poets and entitled Poet Laureate of [STATE].