Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
California Counties
California County map
Click Image to Enlarge
California Counties
The U.S. state of California is divided into fifty-eight counties. On January 4, 1850, the California constitutional committee recommended the formation of 18 counties. They were Benicia, Butte, Fremont, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Monterey, Mount Diablo, Oro, Redding, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Jose, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sonoma, and Sutter. On April 22, the Counties of Branciforte, Calaveras, Coloma, Colusi, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Trinity, and Yuba were added. Benicia was renamed Solano, Coloma to El Dorado, Fremont to Yola, Mt. Diablo to Contra Costa, San Jose to Santa Clara, Oro to Tuolumne, and Redding to Shasta. One of the first state legislative acts regarding Counties was to rename Branciforte County to Santa Cruz, Colusi to Colusa, and Yola to Yolo.

The last California county to have been established is Imperial County in 1907.

Butte County, California

Butte County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Oroville
Year Organized: 1850
Square Miles: 1,640
Court House:

25 County Center Drive
Oroville, CA 95965-3316

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Its name is derived from the Marysville or Sutter Buttes, which lay within the boundaries when it was created. The word butte is derived from the Teutonic word meaning "a blunt extension or elevation." In the French language, it signifies "a small hill or mound of earth detached from any mountain range."


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Butte County, the “Land of Natural Wealth and Beauty” was one of the original California counties, founded on February 18, 1850. Butte County was one of California's first counties, created at time of statehood. Part of the county's territory was given to Plumas County in 1854 and to Tehama County in 1856. Its name is derived from the Marysville or Sutter Buttes, which lay within the boundaries of the county when it was created. Butte County is the home of 210,500 people, living in the cities of Chico, Oroville, Gridley, Biggs, Paradise or other parts of the county.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 1,677 square miles (4,344 kmē), of which, 1,639 square miles (4,246 kmē) of it is land and 38 square miles (97 kmē) of it (2.24%) is water.

The county is drained by the Feather River and Butte Creek. Part of the county's western border is formed by the Sacramento River. The county lies along the western slope of the Sierra Nevada, the steep slopes making it prime territory for the siting of hydroelectric power plants. About a half dozen of these plants are located in the county.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Northeast: Plumas County
  • Southeast: Yuba County
  • South: Sutter County
  • Southwest: Colusa County
  • West: Glenn County
  • Northwest: Tehama County

Cities and Towns:

- Biggs city Incorporated Area
- Chico city Incorporated Area
- Gridley city Incorporated Area
- Oroville (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Paradise town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"