Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
California Counties
California County map
Click Image to Enlarge
California Counties
The U.S. state of California is divided into fifty-eight counties. On January 4, 1850, the California constitutional committee recommended the formation of 18 counties. They were Benicia, Butte, Fremont, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Monterey, Mount Diablo, Oro, Redding, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Jose, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sonoma, and Sutter. On April 22, the Counties of Branciforte, Calaveras, Coloma, Colusi, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Trinity, and Yuba were added. Benicia was renamed Solano, Coloma to El Dorado, Fremont to Yola, Mt. Diablo to Contra Costa, San Jose to Santa Clara, Oro to Tuolumne, and Redding to Shasta. One of the first state legislative acts regarding Counties was to rename Branciforte County to Santa Cruz, Colusi to Colusa, and Yola to Yolo.

The last California county to have been established is Imperial County in 1907.

Mendocino County, California

Mendocino County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Ukiah
Year Organized: 1850
Square Miles: 3,509
Court House:

501 Low Gap Road
County Courthouse
Ukiah, CA 95482-3734

Etymology - Origin of County Name

The county derived its name from Cape Mendocino, which was probably named in honor of either Antonio de Mendoza, Viceroy of New Spain, 1535-1542 (who sent the Juan Cabrillo Expedition to this coast in 1542), or Lorenzo Suarez de Mendoza, Viceroy from 1580 to 1583. Mendocino is an adjective form of the family name of Mendoza.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Mendocino County was one of California's original 27 counties, created in 1850 by the State Legislature. Because of its small population, Mendocino County was administered by the government of Sonoma County until 1859, when the government was established in a small building on Main Street in Ukiah. County officials moved into the first courthouse at the site bounded by Standley, Perkins, State and Schools streets on January 24, 1860.

Mendocino County derives its name from Cape Mendocino, which lies northward of its northern boundary. Cape Mendocino was given its name by a famous Spanish navigator of the 16th century, Juan Rodriquez Cabrillo. Cabrillo discovered it in 1542 while on a voyage of discovery along the Pacific Coast and named it in honor of Don Antonio de Mendoza, the first Viceroy of New Spain (Mexico), and the patron of the voyageur.

The first permanent Spanish settlers came to the area in the middle 16th century. It was almost 300 years before the first permanent non-Spanish settlements in the county were made on the coast north of Big River in April of 1852.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 3,878 square miles (10,044 kmē), of which, 3,509 square miles (9,088 kmē) of it is land and 369 square miles (956 kmē) of it (9.52%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Trinity County
  • Northeast: Tehama County
  • East: Glenn County
  • Southeast: Lake County; Sonoma County
  • West: North Pacific Ocean
  • Northwest: Humboldt County

Cities and Towns:

- Fort Bragg city Incorporated Area
- Point Arena city Incorporated Area
- Ukiah (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Willits city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"