Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
California Counties
California County map
Click Image to Enlarge
California Counties
The U.S. state of California is divided into fifty-eight counties. On January 4, 1850, the California constitutional committee recommended the formation of 18 counties. They were Benicia, Butte, Fremont, Los Angeles, Mariposa, Monterey, Mount Diablo, Oro, Redding, Sacramento, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Jose, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Sonoma, and Sutter. On April 22, the Counties of Branciforte, Calaveras, Coloma, Colusi, Marin, Mendocino, Napa, Trinity, and Yuba were added. Benicia was renamed Solano, Coloma to El Dorado, Fremont to Yola, Mt. Diablo to Contra Costa, San Jose to Santa Clara, Oro to Tuolumne, and Redding to Shasta. One of the first state legislative acts regarding Counties was to rename Branciforte County to Santa Cruz, Colusi to Colusa, and Yola to Yolo.

The last California county to have been established is Imperial County in 1907.

Solano County, California

Solano County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Fairfield
Year Organized: 1850
Square Miles: 828
Court House:

675 Texas Street
County Court House
Fairfield, CA 94533-0000

Etymology - Origin of County Name

The county derives its name indirectly from that of the Franciscan missionary, Father Francisco Solano, whose name was given in baptism to the chief of one of the Indian tribes of the region. Before receiving the name Solano, the chief was called Sem-yeto, which signifies "brave or fierce hand." At the request of General Mariano Vallejo, the county was named for Chief Solano, who at one time ruled over most of the land and tribes between the Petaluma Creek and the Sacramento River.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Solano County was one of the original counties of California, created in 1850 at the time of statehood. Prior to statehood, it had been referred to as Benicia County. The county seat is Fairfield and the largest city is Vallejo.

Perhaps no county in the State has had so momentous a history as Solano, lying as she does in a sense at the portal to the great interior valleys and the mining regions. She has had the vision of great cities and of metropolitan importance. All these things were disappointments, however, and the county has fallen back to not less solid, if less brilliant, advances in the way of fruit culture and the growth of grain, while still her two cities of Vallejo and Benicia keep up the prestige that attaches always to things naval or military.

A Memorial and Biographical History of Northern California - Chicago, Lewis Publ. Co., 1891


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 907 square miles (2,348 kmē), of which, 829 square miles (2,148 kmē) of it is land and 77 square miles (201 kmē) of it (8.55%) is water.

A portion of the South Campus at the University of California, Davis is in Solano County.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Yolo County
  • Northeast: Sacramento County
  • South: Contra Costa County
  • Southwest: San Francisco Bay
  • Northwest: Sonoma County; Napa County

Cities and Towns:

- American Canyon city Incorporated Area
- Benicia city Incorporated Area
- Dixon city Incorporated Area
- Fairfield (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Rio Vista city Incorporated Area
- Suisun City city Incorporated Area
- Vacaville city Incorporated Area
- Vallejo city Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"