Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge
Florida Counties
In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today.In 1968, the electors of Florida granted local voters the power to adopt charters to govern their counties. Charters are formal written documents that confer powers, duties, or privileges on the county. To date, there are 19 charter Counties in Florida. Collectively these Counties are home to more than 75 percent of Florida's residents.

Hamilton County, Florida

Hamilton County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Jasper
Year Organized: 1827
Square Miles: 515
Court House:

207 NE 1st Street, Room 106
County Courthouse
Jasper, FL 32052-6669

Etymology - Origin of County Name

It was named for Alexander Hamilton, first United States Secretary of the Treasury.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Hamilton County is Florida's 15th county, established on December 26, 1827, from a segment of Escambia County. It gains its name from Alexander Hamilton, the first U.S. Secretary of the Treasury. Jasper is the county seat.


According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 519 square miles (1,345 kmē), of which, 515 square miles (1,333 kmē) of it is land and 4 square miles (12 kmē) of it (0.86%) is water.

Hamilton County is located in North Central Florida, with Georgia forming its northern border. The county (often called a peninsula within a peninsula) is separated from the rest of Florida by the Withlacoochee River on the west and the beautiful Suwannee River to the east and south. In the middle of the county is the fascinating Alapaha River, called the "River of Sand," which disappears underground during certain parts of the year leaving a dry, sandy riverbed.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Echols County, Ga.
  • Southeast: Columbia County
  • South: Suwannee County
  • West: Madison County
  • Northwest: Lowndes County, Ga.

Cities and Towns:

- Jasper (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Jennings town Incorporated Area
- White Springs town Incorporated Area

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"