Colleges Search

Have you begun your college search? Find a college that's right for you. Acess over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US.

Begin Now!

Online Schools

Campus Schools

Florida Counties
Florida County map
Click Image to Enlarge

Florida Counties

In 1821, there were only two Counties in Florida: Escambia to the west and St. Johns to the east. From these two Counties were formed 67 today.In 1968, the electors of Florida granted local voters the power to adopt charters to govern their counties. Charters are formal written documents that confer powers, duties, or privileges on the county. To date, there are 19 charter Counties in Florida. Collectively these Counties are home to more than 75 percent of Florida's residents.
Search & Apply to New Jobs *

Levy County, Florida

Levy County Education, Geography, and HistoryLevy County, Florida Courthouse

Levy County is a county located in the state of Florida. As of the 2010 census, the population was 40,801. Its county seat is Bronson

Etymology - Origin of Levy County Name

David Levy (Yulee), US Senator, 1845-1851, 1855-1861.


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Levy County was formed on the 10th of March 1845, from the Counties of Alachua and Marion. Alachua was formed in 1842 from Duval and St. Johns. Duval was formed in 1822 from the original St. Johns County. Marion was formed in 1844 from parts of Alachua, Hillsborough, and Mosquito, now Orange County in 1845. The County received its name from the first U.S. Senator from Florida, David Levy Yulee, whom also developed a 5,000 acre plantation on the Homosassa River. The town of Bronson was selected to be the County Seat.


Levy County is on the Gulf of Mexico, south of Gainesville and west of Ocala. It is bordered by Dixie, Gilchrist, Alachua, Marion, and Citrus counties. The county has 1,137 square miles of area. The average January temperature is 57.9 degrees F, and the average August temperature is 82.1 degrees F. The average annual rainfall is 45.30 inches.

Neighboring Counties:

  • North: Gilchrist County
  • Northeast: Alachua County
  • East: Marion County
  • Southeast: Citrus County
  • Southwest: Gulf of Mexico
  • Northwest: Dixie County


Florida Colleges, Universities, & Schools
Compare More Colleges and Universities
Find the Right School

Find more schools to match to your needs.

County Resources
US Counties
Names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"
Hunting for a new job? Get advice or search over 1.6 million jobs on the largest job site
Colleges & Universities
Colleges & Universities: Search or Browse over 8500 Colleges, Universities, and Trade Schools in the US..

Find and Compare!

With access to over 8,500 schools to choose from!

Get Your Degree!

Find schools and get information on the program that’s right for you.

Powered by Campus Explorer

Search Jobs & Employment

Quick Job Search

Enter Keyword(s):

Enter a City:

Select a State:

Select a Category:

-- Advanced Job Search

-- Search by Company

Provides pricing transparency, scholarship information as well as numerous other key details on over 8,500 US colleges, universities and trade schools