Find the Right School

Find a College

Begin Now!

Online Colleges
Campus Colleges
New York Counties
New York County map
Click Image to Enlarge
New York Counties
There are 62 counties in the State of New York. The first twelve counties in New York were created immediately after the British annexation of the Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, although two of these counties have since been abolished. The most recent county formation in New York was in 1912, when Bronx County was created from the portions of New York City that had been annexed from Westchester County. New York's counties are named for a variety of Native American words, British provinces, cities, and royalty, early American statesmen and generals, and state politicians.

Fulton County, New York

Fulton County History, Geography, and Demographics

County Seat: Johnstown
Year Organized: 1838
Square Miles: 496
Court House:

223 West Main Street
County Building
Johnstown, NY 12095-2309

Etymology - Origin of County Name

Named in honor of Robert Fulton, engineer, inventor and builder of the steamboat "Clermont" in 1807, the first steam vessel and the first to sail the Hudson


County QuickFacts: Census Bureau Quick Facts

County History

Fulton County was taken from the northern part of Montgomery county in 1838; NW. from Albany 40 miles; length E. and W. 32 miles, breadth N. and S. 17. The surface of the northern part of this county is hilly, with some ranges of a mountainous character. The Kayaderosseras range of mountains enters the county on the NE., but sinks to the general level in the town of Northampton. The county is well watered and contains several small lakes. It is divided into 9 towns. (Historical Collections of the State of New York, Past and Present, John Barber, Clark Albien & Co., 1851)

Fulton County, named after Robert Fulton, the illustrious inventor of the steamboat, was created by an act of the Legislature, April 18, 1838. The county contains 544 square miles of rolling land, the highest elevation being Pinnacle Mountain, 2,514 feet above sea level. In the northern corner are also many small lakes, possessing those picturesque features characterizing the wilderness region of New York. Full History at NYSAC


Fulton County is in the central part of the state, northwest of Albany.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 533 square miles (1,380 kmē), of which, 496 square miles (1,285 kmē) of it is land and 37 square miles (95 kmē) of it (6.89%) is water.

Neighboring Counties:

  • Hamilton County, New York - north
  • Saratoga County, New York - east
  • Montgomery County, New York - south
  • Herkimer County, New York - west

Cities and Towns:

- Benson town
- Bleecker town
- Broadalbin village Incorporated Area
- Caroga town
- Edinburg town
- Gloversville city Incorporated Area
- Johnstown (County Seat) city Incorporated Area
- Mayfield village Incorporated Area
- Northville village Incorporated Area
- Stratford town

County Resources:

Enter County Resources and Information Here

County Resources
Counties: US Map
The history of our nation was a prolonged struggle to define the relative roles and powers of our governments: federal, state, and local. And the names given the counties, our most locally based jurisdictions, reflects the "characteristic features of this country!"